

**TO:** Lay and Clergy Members of the Diocese of Central Florida

- **FROM:** The Reverend Jason Murbarger, Chair Committee on Nominations and Elections
- DATE: October, 2023

In this letter you will find a list of the elected offices to be filled at the forthcoming Diocesan Convention on Saturday, January 27, 2024. A form for submitting nominations will be posted on the Diocesan Convention website at: cfdiocese.org/2024diocon

When submitting a person's name for nomination it is with the understanding that the nominee has consented to serve in the office if elected. **Clergy and Laity may submit their own names for nomination.** Nominations should include a short resumé (250 words or less) including the nominee's qualifications and any other pertinent information AND a photograph of the nominee to be published on the Diocesan website and in print media.

The Committee reserves the right to edit any resumé of undue length. Names of Nominees will be listed on the Diocesan Convention website and in print media in alphabetical order.

Nominations must be received no later than **Monday**, **January 22**, **2024** in order to receive consideration for publication prior to Convention and to have the nominee's name listed alphabetically on the ballot. Nomination forms are available on the Diocesan Convention website.

## Nominations and Elections – 2024

# Positions to be filled by election at the 2024 Convention are:

### **1. STANDING COMMITTEE**

The Standing Committee is a Council of Advice to the Bishop. When there is no Bishop, the Standing Committee is the Ecclesiastical Authority for all proper purposes. The Standing Committee consists of 4 clerical members (who shall be elected for 4-year terms) and 3 lay members (who shall be elected for 3-year terms). The Standing Committee generally meets monthly or at the special call of the President of the Standing Committee or the Bishop. The Standing Committee serves as the Resolutions Committee for Meetings of all Conventions.

#### To be elected:

One clergy person to be elected to a 4-year term One lay person to be elected to a 3-year term

The terms of The Reverend Jonathan French and Mrs. Monique Myers expire at the conclusion of this Convention; they are not eligible for re-election at this Convention.

**NOTE:** The President of the Standing committee serves *ex officio* as a member of the Diocesan Board. No other person may serve on the Standing Committee and the Diocesan Board at the same time

## 2. DIOCESAN BOARD

The Diocesan Board is the Board of Directors of the corporation known as the Diocese of Central Florida, Incorporated. The affairs of the Diocese not falling within the exclusive province of the bishop shall be managed by the Diocesan Board. Members of the Board shall be elected for 3-year terms. The Diocesan Board generally meets monthly or at the call of the Ecclesiastical Authority. Board members are encouraged to serve on a Commission or Committee of the Diocese which meets at the call of the chair.

#### To be elected:

One clergy person to be elected to a 3-year term Two lay persons to be elected to a 3-year term

[Deans (clergy) and Presidents (lay) are elected by their respective deaneries and serve a 3-year term on the Diocesan Board]

The terms of The Reverend Phyllis Bartle, Mrs. Leslie Andreae, and Mr. Todd Pittenger expire at the conclusion of this Convention; they are not eligible for re-election at this Convention.

The terms of the following Deanery officers expire at the conclusion of this Convention; they are not eligible for re-election at this Convention or at a Deanery Convocation:

- Dr. Virginia Cummings-Lang (President, Southwest Deanery)
- Mrs. Fran Dunn (President, Northeast Deanery)
- The Very Reverend Stu Shelby (Dean, Central Deanery)

## 3. TRUSTEE, UNIVERSITY OF THE SOUTH

Trustees of the University of the South elect and appoint the Board of Regents, a Chancellor, the Vice Chancellor, and a Chaplain. Trustees hold the land in trust for the University, promote church support and student enrollment, and approve or reject plans for growth and development. They meet annually and ratify the work of the Board of Regents.

### To be elected:

One lay person to be elected (3-year term)

The term of Mr. James "Trippe" Cheek expires at the conclusion of this Convention. He is eligible for re-election at this Convention.